You are in:

Caixa Económica Montepio Geral

Caixa Económica Montepio Geral

Established in 1844, Caixa Económica Montepio Geral (CEMG) is a savings bank focused on retail bank and fully owned by Montepio Geral – Associação Mutualista (MGAM), the largest association and the largest mutual association in Portugal.

Offering a wide range of banking and financial products and services, Caixa Económica aimed at catering for all its customers financial needs through its network of more than 450 branches as well as through its remote channels.


Create value for MGAM’s members and other stakeholders, achieving sustained profitability levels by providing products and services fulfilling the needs for its members and customers.
Provide a quality service, acting with high ethical standards and respecting mutuality principles and social sustainability criteria.


- Retail banking which differs by its mutual purposes and represents associative participation and solidarity values.
- Unique in the Portuguese banking system, CEMG is dedicated to promote savings and to provide credit to private segments, micro, small and medium enterprises (SME) and institutions of Social Economy.
- CEMG provides a universal offer of financial products and services as well a wide range of solutions that complement the public Social Security System (mutual products).
- It is recognized by its prudent management, service quality, ethical behavior and its role as an active agent in promoting Social Economy.



Corporate Governance
Caixa Económica Montepio Geral


General Meeting Board

Chairman Vítor José Melícias Lopes
1st Secretary António Pedro de Sá Alves Sameiro
2nd Secretary António Dias Sequeira

Executive Board of Directors

Chairman of Executive Board of Directors António Tomás Correia
Executive Director Jorge Humberto Barros Luís
Executive Director Pedro Miguel de Almeida Alves Ribeiro
Executive Director Fernando Paulo Pereira Magalhães

General and Supervisory Board

Chairman José de Almeida Serra

Vitor José Melícias Lopes
Eduardo José da Silva Farinha
Álvaro Cordeiro Dâmaso
Carlos Morais Beato
Álvaro João Duarte Pinto Correia
Gabriel José dos Santos Fernandes
Luísa Maria Xavier Machado
Maria Manuela Silva
Eugénio Óscar Garcia Rosa
António Gonçalves Ribeiro

Board Remuneration Committee

Chairman Luís Eduardo Silva Barbosa

José Eduardo Fragoso Tavares de Bettencourt
José Carlos Pereira Lilaia

Statutory Auditor

Jean-Eric Gaign, ROC n.º 1 013

Get in touch

808 20 26 26From 07:00AM to 01:00 PM.
+351 217 241 624